Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, RIAS Kammerchor – Mendelssohn: Symphonies Nos. 1-5 (Live) (2017) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz]

Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, RIAS Kammerchor - Mendelssohn: Symphonies Nos. 1-5 (Live) (2017) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, RIAS Kammerchor
Album: Mendelssohn: Symphonies Nos. 1-5 (Live)
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2017
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 03:20:13
Total Tracks: 31
Total Size: 3,49 GB


Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1947)

Symphony No. 1 In C Minor, Op. 11, MWV N 13
1 1. Allegro di molto (Live) 00:10:29
2 2. Andante (Live) 00:06:17
3 3. Minuetto. Allegro molto – Trio (Live) 00:07:15
4 4. Allegro con fuoco (Live) 00:08:13

Symphony No. 2 In B Flat, Op. 52, MWV A 18 – “Hymn Of Praise”
5 1a. Sinfonia – Maestoso con moto – Allegro (Live) 00:12:29
6 1b. Sinfonia – Allegretto un poco agitato (Live) 00:06:36
7 1c. Sinfonia – Adagio Religioso (Live) 00:07:30
8 2a. Chorus. Allegro moderato maestoso “Alles, was Odem hat, lobe den Herrn” (Live) 00:04:49
9 2b. Molto più moderato ma con fuoco “Lobe den Herrn, meine Seele” (Live) 00:02:22
10 3a. Recitative: “Saget es, die ihr erlöst seid durch den Herrn” (Live) 00:00:49
11 3b. Allegro moderato. “Er zählet unsre Tränen” (Live) 00:02:16
12 4. Chorus. A tempo moderato. “Sagt es, die ihr erlöst seid” (Live) 00:02:07
13 5. Duet & Chorus. Andante. “Ich harrete des Herrn” – “Wohl dem, der seine Hoffnung setzt!” (Live) 00:05:12
14 6. Allegro un poco agitato “Stricke des Todes hatten uns umfangen” – “Die Nacht ist vergangen” (Live) 00:04:18
15 7. Chorus. Allegro maestoso e molto vivace. “Die Nacht ist vergangen” (Live) 00:04:16
16 8. Chorale. Andante con moto – Un poco più animato. “Nun danket alle Gott” (Live) 00:03:23
17 9. Andante sostenuto assai. “Drum sing’ ich mit meinem Liede ewig dein Lob” (Live) 00:05:12
18 10. Chorus. Allegro non troppo “Ihr Völker, bringet her dem Herrn Ehre und Macht!” – “Danket dem Herrn und rühmt seinen Namen” (Live) 00:05:43

Symphony No. 3 In A Minor, Op. 56, MWV N 18 – “Scottish”
19 1. Andante con moto – Allegro un poco agitato – Assai animato – Andante come prima (Live) 00:16:43
20 2. Vivace non troppo (Live) 00:04:14
21 3. Adagio (Live) 00:09:49
22 4. Allegro vivacissimo – Allegro maestoso assai (Live) 00:10:02

Symphony No. 4 In A Major, Op. 90, MWV N 16 – “Italian”
23 1. Allegro vivace (Live) 00:10:20
24 2. Andante con moto (Live) 00:06:37
25 3. Menuetto. Con moto moderato (Live) 00:06:28
26 4. Saltarello. Presto (Live) 00:05:40

Symphony No. 5 In D Minor, Op. 107, MWV N 15 – “Reformation”
27 1. Andante – Allegro con fuoco (Live) 00:11:33
28 2. Allegro vivace (Live) 00:05:54
29 3a. Andante (Live) 00:03:44
30 3b. Recitative (Live) 00:01:55
31 4. Chorale: “Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott” – Allegro vivace – Allegro maestoso (Live) 00:08:00


2017 marks the 500th anniversary of the European Reformation, started by Martin Luther in 1517. To honor this occasion, Deutsche Grammophon is releasing a new interpretation of the complete Mendelssohn symphonies, crowned by a recording of the Reformation Symphony No. 5.

The symphonies were recorded in February 2016 during a celebrated Mendelssohn festival over the course of two days at the Philharmonie de Paris – all under the baton of young, exciting conductor, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, the Music Director of the Philadelphia Orchestra and Music Director Designate of the Metropolitan Opera New York.

This release is the first complete symphonic cycle to be recorded at the new Philharmonie de Paris, which opened in January 2015!

For this recording, Christopher Hogwood’s editions of the symphonies were chosen because of their particular importance for the Reformation symphony:

Mendelssohn, the often self-critical (and self-revising!) composer, who “in the process of trying to reduce the work to a length suitable for its celebratory function, [he] cut out one entire movement preceding the Finale, a passage that expands on the flute cadenza and prepares the arrival of the chorale theme with more engaging musical drama”. (Christopher Hogwood)

The original version of the work may now be listened to in its entirety!

This release underlines a strong ongoing collaboration with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe that already culminated in a successful release of the complete Schumann symphonies (March 2014) and the continuing Mozart Opera Cycle. Two instalments of the latter have been nominated for a Grammy: Le Nozze di Figaro and Die Entführung aus dem Serail.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: