Various – Decade (1977/2017) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz]

Various - Decade (1977/2017) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Various
Album: Decade
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 1977/2017
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 02:25:48
Total Tracks: 35
Total Size: 2,97 GB


01. Buffalo Springfield – Down to the Wire (02:31)
02. Buffalo Springfield – Burned (02:16)
03. Buffalo Springfield – Mr.Soul (02:49)
04. Buffalo Springfield – Broken Arrow (06:14)
05. Buffalo Springfield – Expecting to Fly (03:48)
06. Neil Young – Sugar Mountain (05:45)
07. Buffalo Springfield – I Am a Child (02:19)
08. Neil Young – The Loner (03:51)
09. Neil Young – The Old Laughing Lady (05:59)
10. Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Cinnamon Girl (03:00)
11. Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Down By the River (09:19)
12. Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Cowgirl In the Sand (10:06)
13. Neil Young & Crazy Horse – I Believe in You (03:27)
14. Neil Young & Crazy Horse – After the Gold Rush (03:45)
15. Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Southern Man (05:29)
16. Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Helpless (03:39)
17. Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Ohio (03:00)
18. Neil Young – Soldier (02:29)
19. Neil Young – Old Man (03:22)
20. Neil Young – A Man Needs a Maid (04:00)
21. Neil Young – Harvest (03:11)
22. Neil Young – Heart of Gold (03:07)
23. Neil Young – Star of Bethlehem (02:49)
24. Neil Young – The Needle and the Damage Done (02:03)
25. Neil Young – Tonight’s the Night, Pt.1 (04:41)
26. Neil Young – Tired Eyes (04:33)
27. Neil Young – Walk On (02:41)
28. Neil Young – For the Turnstiles (03:01)
29. Neil Young – Winterlong (03:08)
30. Neil Young – Deep Forbidden Lake (03:45)
31. Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Like a Hurricane (08:17)
32. Neil Young – Love Is a Rose (02:16)
33. Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Cortez the Killer (07:32)
34. Neil Young – Campaigner (03:30)
35. The Stills-Young Band – Long May You Run (03:48)


Released in October 1977, the essential anthology Decade (a triple vinyl album back then!) gives a detailed overview of Neil Young’s work between 1966 and 1976. In 35 titles (including 6 unreleased pieces), the Loner’s genius bursts out for all to see. Mostly solo, but also with Buffalo Springfield and Crosby, Stills and Nash, this collection particularly shows that this decade was his most fascinating. Building on masterfully written songs, Neil Young mixes rock, folk and country with great originality for the time. In both ballads and much meaner songs, his style is like fireworks. He is most likely the most original artist of his generation. One that never shies away from questioning himself either. Novices can start climbing the mountain of his works with this five-star compilation record, before digging deeper, one album at a time.Given the quirkiness of Neil Young’s recording career, with its frequent cancellations of releases and last-minute rearrangements of material, it is a relief to report that this two-disc compilation is so conventional and so satisfying. A 35-track selection of the best of Young’s work between 1966 and 1976, it includes songs performed by Buffalo Springfield, Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, and the Stills-Young Band, as well as solo work. In addition to five unreleased songs, Decade offers such key tracks as the Springfield’s “Mr. Soul,” “Broken Arrow,” and “I Am a Child”; “Sugar Mountain,” a song that had appeared only as a single before; “Cinnamon Girl,” “Down by the River,” and “Cowgirl in the Sand” from Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere; “Southern Man” and the title track from After the Gold Rush; and “Old Man” and the chart-topping “Heart of Gold” from Harvest. This is the material that built Young’s reputation between 1966 and 1972, although he is more idiosyncratic with the later material, including the blockbusters “Like a Hurricane” and “Cortez the Killer” but mixing in more unreleased recordings as the set draws to a close. He seems intent on making the album a listenable one that will appeal to a broad base of fans, and he succeeds despite the exclusion of much of the harrowing work of 1973-1975. Nevertheless, the album is an ideal sampler for new listeners, and since there is no one-disc Young compilation covering any significant portion of his career, this lengthy chronicle is the place to start.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: