Oscar Peterson – Oscar Peterson Plays The George Gershwin Song Book (1959/2015) [FLAC, 24bit, 192 kHz]

Oscar Peterson - Oscar Peterson Plays The George Gershwin Song Book (1959/2015) [FLAC, 24bit, 192 kHz] Download

Artist: Oscar Peterson
Album: Oscar Peterson Plays The George Gershwin Song Book
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1959/2015
Audio Format: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 192 kHz
Duration: 32:43
Total Tracks: 12
Total Size: 1,46 GB


01. Oscar Peterson – It Ain’t Necessarily So (02:48)
02. Oscar Peterson – The Man I Love (03:08)
03. Oscar Peterson – Love Walked In (02:48)
04. Oscar Peterson – I Was Doing All Right (02:50)
05. Oscar Peterson – A Foggy Day (02:54)
06. Oscar Peterson – Oh Lady Be Good (03:01)
07. Oscar Peterson – Love Is Here To Stay (02:59)
08. Oscar Peterson – They All Laughed (02:31)
09. Oscar Peterson – Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off (02:19)
10. Oscar Peterson – Summertime (02:57)
11. Oscar Peterson – Nice Work If You Can Get It (02:06)
12. Oscar Peterson – Shall We Dance? (02:15)

Download Links:

Canadian jazz pianist Oscar Peterson takes on songs by composer George Gershwin. Oscar Peterson Plays the George Gershwin Songbook features “Nice Work If You Can Get It”, “Our Love is Here to Stay” and more!
Oscar Peterson made two trips through the Gershwin repertoire, one in 1952 and another in 1959 after the advent of stereo. As with Oscar Peterson Plays the Duke Ellington Songbook, this disc compiles both sessions, the earlier one with a trio of guitarist Barney Kessel and bassist Ray Brown, the later one with Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen. The later session is programmed first. The earlier group drew its conception from the Nat ‘King’ Cole trio, a lightly swinging blend that benefits from a third highly adept soloist in Kessel. The later group is more conventional, but it sometimes draws meatier, more forceful playing from an older Peterson. The contrast is apparent in the two versions of ‘It Ain’t Necessarily So.’ On both sessions, the emphasis is on the tunes, and Peterson sparkles on uptempos and ballads alike.“

In what was a giant undertaking (even for producer Norman Granz), pianist Oscar Peterson recorded ten Songbook albums during 1952-1954 and when his trio changed, nine more in 1959. Both of his George Gershwin projects (one from 1952 and the other from 1959) have been reissued in full on this single CD. The earlier date matches the brilliant Peterson with guitarist Barney Kessel and bassist Ray Brown, while the 1959 session has Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen. The Songbook series found Peterson playing concise (around three-minute) versions of tunes, and he always kept the melody in the forefront. The results are not innovative or unique, but they are tasteful and reasonably enjoyable. Since five of the songs are played by both groups, a comparison between the two units is interesting.“ –Scott Yanow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 hi-res.me - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: