Niki & The Dove – Instinct (2012) [FLAC 24 bit, 44,1 kHz]

Niki & The Dove - Instinct (2012) [FLAC 24 bit, 44,1 kHz] Download

Artist: Niki & The Dove
Album: Instinct
Genre: Synth-pop
Release Date: 2012
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 44,1 kHz
Duration: 48:02
Total Tracks: 12
Total Size: 563 MB


01. Niki & The Dove – Tomorrow (03:52)
02. Niki & The Dove – The Drummer (03:52)
03. Niki & The Dove – In Our Eyes (05:02)
04. Niki & The Dove – The Gentle Roar (03:44)
05. Niki & The Dove – Mother Protect (05:05)
06. Niki & The Dove – Last Night (03:18)
07. Niki & The Dove – Somebody (02:49)
08. Niki & The Dove – Love To The Test (03:56)
09. Niki & The Dove – DJ, Ease My Mind (04:01)
10. Niki & The Dove – Winterheart (04:05)
11. Niki & The Dove – The Fox (04:18)
12. Niki & The Dove – Under The Bridges (03:57)


While their roots are in theatre, they ultimately straddle the pop and dance worlds with a devastating musical hybrid that incorporates electronics and beats spanning from tribal to synth-pop to R&B. Niki & The Dove’s pop and dance sides are both evident from the very first moments of Instinct, their debut album, as the opening track “Tomorrow” unfolds a subtle pulse with pan-Pacific textures underneath Malin’s aching vocal, rising to a series of euphoric peaks as the vocals ramp up the feeling of a tribal ceremony. Time and again, Instinct follows the same blueprint of intent-a blend of tenderness, explosion, hypnosis and elation-but never the same routine.The singles Niki and the Dove released before their debut album Instinct hinted at a wide range: “DJ, Ease My Mind” offered state-of-the-art Swedish pop with a Knife-like edge, while “The Fox,” with its lunging, predatory cello loop, explored much darker territory. Malin Dahlström and Gustaf Karlöf live up to the promise of those singles on these songs, bridging the gaps between them and taking their sound to further extremes along the way. At first, the balance between their sweetness and light and their gothier side can seem more like a tug of war: the shift from “Last Night”‘s sing-song melody and “Somebody”‘s wall-to-wall synths to “Winterheart”‘s bleak balladry is initially jarring. After a few listens, however, these changes feel natural and yes, even instinctive. It helps that Niki and the Dove lead their listeners into the more mystical side of their sound gradually through the album like a trail of breadcrumbs: on “The Drummer,” the booming backing vocal that rises behind Dahlström like the spirit of drumming itself suggests that Instinct is from a world where sacred rites are performed in the club, and dance parties are thrown in the woods; “In Our Eyes” is half brilliant pop song, half invocation of a storm. The duo embraces the pagan side of Scandinavian pop on “Gentle Roar,” where Dahlström whispers “I’m waking the witch and I’m moving like a cat,” and on “Mother Protect,” where she sings “I am furious/fear the lioness/paint your face black and golden” with a Björk-like crow to her voice. Within the context of these songs, it’s easier to hear the spiritual, even supernatural leanings on “DJ, Ease My Mind” and “The Fox”‘s sparkling hooks. Along with Björk, Kate Bush is a spiritual fairy godmother to Niki and the Dove, particularly on “Tomorrow,” where Dahlström’s vocals evoke a similar ethereal passion — but then again, the playful “Love to the Test” sparkles like a prime Stock Aiken Waterman production, and shows that Dahlström and Karlöf think that falling in love is just as magical as waking a witch. Instinct is a vivid and varied debut, and ultimately a more rewarding listen than if Niki and the Dove had just explored one facet of their sound. If they have this kind of scope the first time out, then where their instincts take them next will be exciting indeed. ~~ AllMusic Review by Heather Phares

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: