Lou Reed – New York (1989/2015) [FLAC 24 bit, 192 kHz]

Lou Reed - New York (1989/2015) [FLAC 24 bit, 192 kHz] Download

Artist: Lou Reed
Album: New York
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 1989/2015
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 192 kHz
Duration: 56:46
Total Tracks: 14
Total Size: 2,10 GB


01. Lou Reed – Romeo Had Juliette (03:09)
02. Lou Reed – Halloween Parade (03:32)
03. Lou Reed – Dirty Blvd. (03:28)
04. Lou Reed – Endless Cycle (04:02)
05. Lou Reed – There Is No Time (03:45)
06. Lou Reed – Last Great American Whale (03:41)
07. Lou Reed – Beginning Of A Great Adventure (04:58)
08. Lou Reed – Busload Of Faith (04:49)
09. Lou Reed – Sick Of You (03:25)
10. Lou Reed – Hold On (03:24)
11. Lou Reed – Good Evening Mr. Waldheim (04:35)
12. Lou Reed – Xmas In February (02:57)
13. Lou Reed – Strawman (05:53)
14. Lou Reed – Dime Store Mystery (05:02)


New York was Lou Reed’s fifteenth studio album released in 1989. The record was considered one of Reed’s best solo albums, known for it’s great lyrical content, it featured single “Dirty Blvd.” which made it to number one on Billboard’s Modern Rock Tracks chart.New York City figured so prominently in Lou Reed’s music for so long that it’s surprising it took him until 1989 to make an album simply called New York, a set of 14 scenes and sketches that represents the strongest, best-realized set of songs of Reed’s solo career. While Reed’s 1982 comeback, The Blue Mask, sometimes found him reaching for effects, New York’s accumulated details and deft caricatures hit bull’s-eye after bull’s-eye for 57 minutes, and do so with an easy stride and striking lyrical facility. New York also found Reed writing about the larger world rather than personal concerns for a change, and in the beautiful, decaying heart of New York City, he found plenty to talk about — the devastating impact of AIDS in “Halloween Parade,” the vicious circle of child abuse “Endless Cycle,” the plight of the homeless in “Xmas in February” — and even on the songs where he pointedly mounts a soapbox, Reed does so with an intelligence and smart-assed wit that makes him sound opinionated rather than preachy — like a New Yorker. And when Reed does look into his own life, it’s with humor and perception; “Beginning of a Great Adventure” is a hilarious meditation on the possibilities of parenthood, and “Dime Store Mystery” is a moving elegy to his former patron Andy Warhol. Reed also unveiled a new band on this set, and while guitarist Mike Rathke didn’t challenge Reed the way Robert Quine did, Reed wasn’t needing much prodding to play at the peak of his form, and Ron Wasserman proved Reed’s superb taste in bass players had not failed him. Produced with subtle intelligence and a minimum of flash, New York is a masterpiece of literate, adult rock & roll, and the finest album of Reed’s solo career. –Mark Deming

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 hi-res.me - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: