Los Angeles Philharmonic, Gustavo Dudamel – Charles Ives: Complete Symphonies (2020) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz]

Los Angeles Philharmonic, Gustavo Dudamel - Charles Ives: Complete Symphonies (2020) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Los Angeles Philharmonic, Gustavo Dudamel
Album: Charles Ives: Complete Symphonies
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2020
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 02:04:35
Total Tracks: 16
Total Size: 2,44 GB


1. Los Angeles Philharmonic – I. Allegro con moto
2. Los Angeles Philharmonic – II. Adagio molto. Sostenuto
3. Los Angeles Philharmonic – III. Scherzo. Vivace
4. Los Angeles Philharmonic – IV. Allegro molto
5. Los Angeles Philharmonic – I. Andante moderato
6. Los Angeles Philharmonic – II. Allegro
7. Los Angeles Philharmonic – III. Adagio cantabile
8. Los Angeles Philharmonic – IV. Lento maestoso
9. Los Angeles Philharmonic – V. Allegro molto vivace
10. Los Angeles Philharmonic – I. Old Folks Gatherin’ – Andante maestoso
11. Los Angeles Philharmonic – II. Children’s Day – Allegro moderato
12. Los Angeles Philharmonic – III. Communion – Largo
13. Los Angeles Philharmonic – I. Prelude. Maestoso
14. Los Angeles Philharmonic – II. Comedy. Allegretto
15. Los Angeles Philharmonic – III. Fugue. Andante moderato
16. Los Angeles Philharmonic – IV. Finale. Very slowly – Largo maestoso


Charles Ives – Complete Symphonies offers fresh insights into the music of a radical thinker, creator of what Leonard Bernstein called “his own private musical revolution.” The Los Angeles Philharmonic’s performances of these works at Walt Disney Concert Hall, conducted by Music & Artistic Director Gustavo Dudamel, received rave reviews.

With their restless energy, myriad colors and textures, irresistible references to popular American melodies and impulsive changes of mood, these symphonies reveal the heart of “a man full of ideas [who] was trying to create something unique,” according to Dudamel. “When you see calm and contemplation, maybe in a moment it’s complete chaos. At the end, what Ives was doing was opening the door to the texture and the personality of music created in the United States. His symphonies are a great gift to the world.”It is still fascinating to hear the progression of Charles Ives in the symphonic genre. 1898’s Première is relatively classical in style and anchored in European tradition, following in the footsteps of Schumann or Brahms moving through Dvořák and Tchaikovski. Despite this, the work remains extraordinary through its structural mastery. Quatrième (1910-1916 and first performed in 1965) is out of this world like no other work in the history of the genre, it is a dive into an avant-garde realm which has decided to follow an unknown and treacherous path. A landmark work in American music.

Gustavo Dudamel is of the most poignant lyricism in this first work, a quality which he maintains through to the Quatrième. Here, we encounter less of the chaotic, collage aesthetic that can be heard on other interpretations as pioneered by Christoph von Dohnanyi (Decca) who sought out modernity in all nooks and crannies of Ives’ work. Nevertheless, Dudamel’s natural hand carries its own moments of madness – the end of Allegretto with its completely insane superpositions of military and folk sounds!

A true event, this collection is a decisive contribution from the Deutsche Grammophone catalogue, who, since the famous but selective records of Seiji Ozawa and Michael Tilson Thomas (Boston, at the beginning of the 1970s), Leonard Bernstein (New York, 1980s) and the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra (New York, 1990s) has not distinguished itself in this orchestral repertoire. Dudamel’s work has thus completed the recent recordings by Tilson Thomas on the San Francisco Symphony label. – Pierre-Yves Lascar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 hi-res.me - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: