London Philharmonic Orchestra – Boult Conducts Butterworth, Warlock, Hadley & Howells (2007/2019) [FLAC 24 bit, 192 kHz]

London Philharmonic Orchestra - Boult Conducts Butterworth, Warlock, Hadley & Howells (2007/2019) [FLAC 24 bit, 192 kHz] Download

Artist: London Philharmonic Orchestra
Album: Boult Conducts Butterworth, Warlock, Hadley & Howells
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2007/2019
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 192 kHz
Duration: 01:07:51
Total Tracks: 11
Total Size: 2,24 GB


1. London Philharmonic Orchestra – No. 1 Allegro moderato (04:54)
2. London Philharmonic Orchestra – No. 2, Adagio non troppo (04:28)
3. London Philharmonic Orchestra – The Banks of Green Willow (05:30)
4. London Philharmonic Orchestra – A Shropshire Lad (08:26)
5. London Philharmonic Orchestra – An Old Song (05:50)
6. London Philharmonic Orchestra – One Morning in Spring (03:48)
7. London Philharmonic Orchestra – Procession, Op. 36 (04:43)
8. Herbert Downes – Merry Eye, Op. 20 No. 2 (08:45)
9. Herbert Downes – Elegy, Op. 15 (08:59)
10. Herbert Downes – I. Corydon’s Dance (07:11)
11. Herbert Downes – II. Scherzo in Arden (05:12)


The reputation of George Butterworth, whose life was tragically cut short in WWI, rests on a handful of works including the orchestral pieces on this recording. Philip Heseltine (Peter Warlock) left just three orchestral works, including An Old Song. Hadley’s One Morning in Spring was written for his teacher Vaughan Williams. Herbert Howells’s early orchestral and chamber works have ravishing pastoral beauty.”…sympathetic accounts… Butterworth’s Two English Idylls, The Banks of Freen Willow and the sublime Shropshire Lad rhapsody. Tension levels rise markedly for exceptionally insightful readings of Howells’s Procession, Merry-Eye Elegy (an extraordinarily rapt display) and lively 1949 diptych Music for a Prince (these last three with the NPO). Warlock’s An Old Song and Patrick Hadley’s gorgeous One Morning in Spring (written in 1942 for Vaughan Williams’s 70th birthday) complete the feast.” (Gramophone Magazine)

“a welcome sample of the work of a highly discriminating composer. Merry-Eye offers some lively and attractive invention…Supreme performances and recording, with an outstanding coupling of Butterworth’s items” (Penguin Guide)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: