Gabrielle Aplin – Light Up the Dark (Deluxe Edition) (2015) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz]

Gabrielle Aplin - Light Up the Dark (Deluxe Edition) (2015) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Gabrielle Aplin
Album: Light Up the Dark (Deluxe Edition)
Genre: Indie Pop, Pop Rock
Release Date: 2015
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 01:06:17
Total Tracks: 18
Total Size: 1,31 GB


01. Gabrielle Aplin – Light Up The Dark (04:16)
02. Gabrielle Aplin – Skeleton (03:37)
03. Gabrielle Aplin – Fools Love (04:05)
04. Gabrielle Aplin – Slip Away (03:52)
05. Gabrielle Aplin – Sweet Nothing (02:53)
06. Gabrielle Aplin – Heavy Heart (03:55)
07. Gabrielle Aplin – Shallow Love (03:59)
08. Gabrielle Aplin – Anybody Out There (03:09)
09. Gabrielle Aplin – Hurt (04:13)
10. Gabrielle Aplin – Together (02:45)
11. Gabrielle Aplin – What Did You Do? (04:21)
12. Gabrielle Aplin – A While (04:23)
13. Gabrielle Aplin – Don’t Break Your Heart On Me (03:00)
14. Gabrielle Aplin – This Side Of The Moon (04:10)
15. Gabrielle Aplin – Coming Home (03:34)
16. Gabrielle Aplin – Letting You Go (03:09)
17. Gabrielle Aplin – The House We Never Built (03:15)
18. Gabrielle Aplin – You Don’t Like Dancing (03:35)


Gabrielle Ann Aplin is an English singer-songwriter. “Light Up the Dark” is the second studio album, released by Parlophone Records. Debuting at #14 in the UK Albums Chart, the album features the singles ‘Light Up the Dark’ and ‘Sweet Nothing’. This deluxe edition features six bonus tracks.Gabrielle Aplin found her way to fame through a very modern route, this Bath singer-songwriter making her name through covers of the likes of Paramore and Fleetwood Mac uploaded to YouTube. Viral success doesn’t necessarily translate to real-world fame, but Parlophone obviously heard something special in Aplin, and her debut album English Rain proved their suspicions right. Singles like ‘Please Don’t Say You Love Me’ and ‘Panic Cord’ rocketed into the UK chart, and soon Aplin was sharing stages with Ed Sheeran and winning co-signs from pop royalty (Holly Johnson was quite keen on her cover of Frankie Goes To Hollywood’s ‘The Power Of Love’).

Can she repeat such successes on album number two? Light Up The Dark would suggest so. Recorded with help from Luke Potashnick from The Temperance Movement at his home studio, Gabrielle describes the record as “more free”, and a “letting go of ego”. From the swirling, bluesy title track that kicks the album off, it’s quickly clear this is a more mature, thoughtful album than its predecessor, even as it builds to a heady crescendo that would get Florence + The Machine jealous. Similarly energetic is the bouncy dancefloor soul of ‘Sweet Nothing’ and the sashaying, brass-powered ‘Letting You Go’. But there’s more sonic depth here than on English Rain, evinced by the stuttering electronic rhythms laced through ‘Fools Love’ and ‘Skeleton’, an infectious groove assembled from boom-clap rhythms, chiming piano and whooshing sound effects.

Ultimately, though, it’s the strength of the songwriting that makes Light Up The Dark a worthy follow-up – and even when Gabrielle pulls the arrangements right back, as on the huskily intimate ‘Shallow Love’, or the tender and wistful ‘Don’t Break Your Heart’ on me, the lyrics and arrangements shine. This time out, she didn’t even need a cover version to attract our attention – a sign that Gabrielle Aplin’s maturation as an artist is complete.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2023 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: