Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Live (2012) [FLAC 24 bit, 44,1 kHz]

Nik Bärtsch's Ronin - Live (2012) [FLAC 24 bit, 44,1 kHz] Download

Artist: Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin
Album: Live
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2012
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 44,1 kHz
Duration: 01:45:03
Total Tracks: 9
Total Size: 1,02 GB


01. Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Modul 41_17 (Live At Burghof, Lörrach, Germany, 2010) (16:38)
02. Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Modul 35 (Live At Jazztage, Leipzig, Germany, 2009) (11:31)
03. Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Modul 42 (Live At Radiokulturhaus, Wien, Austria, 2009) (08:09)
04. Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Modul 17 (Live At Pit-Inn, Tokyo, Japan, 2009) (08:58)
05. Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Modul 22 (Live At Bimhius, Amsterdam, Netherlands, 2011) (14:45)
06. Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Modul 45 (Live At Enjoy Jazz, Mannheim, Germany, 2010) (13:11)
07. Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Modul 48 (Live At The Sage, Gateshead, United Kingdom, 2010) (08:37)
08. Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Modul 47 (Live At Enjoy Jazz, Mannheim, Germany, 2010) (13:11)
09. Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin – Modul 55 (Live At Jazzbaltica, Salzau, Germany, 2011) (10:00)


Ronin around the world: a powerful and atmospheric concert recording with music captured in Germany, Austria, Holland, England, and Japan, a double-album which transmits the live impact of Nik Bärtsch’s band and its enveloping modular groove music of interlocking rhythms. It’s also a set that marks the end of an era and the transition into a new one. These are the last recordings of Ronin with Björn Meyer’s elegantly-leaping bass guitar as one of the lead voices, and Bärtsch views the album as partly a tribute to Meyer’s long tenure with the band. New bassist Thomy Jordi, meanwhile, makes an impressive entrance on “Modul 55”, but it’s most often the whole band, as a unified field of force, that commands the listener’s attention.The quirky, minimalist ritual groove music of Swiss keyboardist Nik Bärtsch is, after three previous recordings, coming into its own with this fourth CD, recorded live in concert in Zurich and Bern. The refinement of Bärtsch’s playing and the coming together of his now-established quintet, Ronin, is obvious to anyone, whether a newcomer or dedicated fan of the band. Supported by the spot-on rhythmic wizardry of drummer Kaspar Rast and percussionist Andi Pupato, Bärtsch, bassist Björn Meyer, and saxophonist/bass clarinetist Sha weave a magical zen-like discourse of funk/not-funk and a bright, clairvoyant sense of wonder and imagination into the fiber of this music. This is not jam band, modal modern jazz, or film noir sounds in the strictest sense, but all three elements play their distinct parts in what is truly a new sonic language. Everything for Bärtsch is a module. “Modul 14” uses 14/8 and 7/4 time signatures wrapped around a sparse light funk accented by spacy electronics, Fender Rhodes electric piano, and heavy bass, more dense and layered as it goes along. “Modul 17” is a 5/4 ostinato with inventively juxtaposed rhythms using snare brushes and bells contrasting the Rhodes, acoustic piano, and organ. It’s a modern-day road song that astoundingly uses no overdubs, as is the case throughout on this purely live set. “Modul 11” is more traditional R&B-flavored straight funk in 3/4, where the elements of contrast and development — a key to their music — are most evident. “Modul 16” suggests the harder-edged European ’70s fusion of pioneers Charlie Mariano, Jan Hammer, Jasper van’t Hof, Volker Kriegel, and Joachim Kühn, along with the British Canterbury scene, using constant variations within a minimal framework. “Modul 8_9” and “Modul 15” are the longest pieces, more simple and basic, and apply a spare subtlety that may not be the best concert vehicles. Most of this music, under the sub-concept Conspiracy of the Rhythm Gardeners, is compelling, commanding, well worth a close listen, and a prelude for things to be heard stateside. This may be a difficult recording to acquire, but worth the search. –AllMusic Review by Michael G. Nastos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: