Neil Young – Before and After (2023) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz]

Neil Young - Before and After (2023) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Neil Young
Album: Before and After
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 2023
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 47:56
Total Tracks: 13
Total Size: 851 MB


1-1. Neil Young – I’m The Ocean (06:44)
1-2. Neil Young – Homefires (02:04)
1-3. Neil Young – Burned (02:06)
1-4. Neil Young – On the Way Home (03:14)
1-5. Neil Young – If You Got Love (03:32)
1-6. Neil Young – A Dream That Can Last (04:32)
1-7. Neil Young – Birds (02:47)
1-8. Neil Young – My Heart (03:01)
1-9. Neil Young – When I Hold You In My Arms (05:23)
1-10. Neil Young – Mother Earth (03:43)
1-11. Neil Young – Mr. Soul (03:42)
1-12. Neil Young – Comes a Time (03:20)
1-13. Neil Young – Don’t Forget Love (03:41)


On Before And After, Neil Young chooses favorites from his playbook like a trip into his music history and performs them mostly alone on a solo acoustic journey. Each of the songs blend into each other and morph with mesmerizing clarity into a continuous flow of music creating a 48-minute pure and intimate listening experience. The 13-track album spans Neil’s career, from his early Buffalo Springfield contribution, “Burned” (1966) to the recent “Don’t Forget Love”(2021) and includes the previously unreleased song “If You Got Love”.Neil Young continues to exploit his massive catalog of original songs in innovative ways. On his 45th studio album, he revisits 12 songs—mixed as a single track—that stretch as far back as his days with Buffalo Springfield. Young is clear about Before and After’s intentions: “Songs from my life recently recorded create a music montage with no beginnings or endings. The feeling is captured, not in pieces but as a whole piece … music defies shuffling, digital organization, separation. Only for listening.” The constant subject throughout is the life affirming powers of having and giving love. With few exceptions the critical segues between tracks are seamless and unobtrusive; opener “I’m the Ocean,” a classic Young chord progression that was originally on Mirror Ball, easily blends into “Homefires”—first released on Neil Young Archives Volume II 1972-1976. Young is the entire band on this single track, taken from a 96 kHz/24-bit digital source. (Perhaps as an inside joke, Wilco’s Jeff Tweedy is listed in the credits as being an “Electric guitar & Amplifier tech.”) He switches from acoustic guitar, harmonica and piano to pump organ occasionally, as he does in the transition between “On the Way Home” to “If You Got Love,” an unreleased track from the 1983 Trans sessions. With Young’s voice as a constant, there is an undeniable sameness to this continuous design. Except for “Comes a Time,” he avoids the hits and concentrates on songs that he’s felt were unjustly neglected in the past, or that he’s found new meaning in today. That’s audibly true in a new version of “When I Hold You in My Arms,” his paean to life’s inevitable changes. Originally on Are You Passionate?, there’s now a renewed certainly as Young brings new fervor to familiar lines: “Old heart’s going up/ Old heart’s coming down/ My feelings going up/ My feelings coming down/ You gotta hold onto someone in this life.” – Robert Baird

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: