London Symphony Orchestra – Conductor’s Gallery, Vol. 3: Sir Hamilton Harty, Sir Henry Wood (2023) [FLAC 24 bit, 48 kHz]

London Symphony Orchestra - Conductor's Gallery, Vol. 3: Sir Hamilton Harty, Sir Henry Wood (2023) [FLAC 24 bit, 48 kHz] Download

Artist: London Symphony Orchestra
Album: Conductor’s Gallery, Vol. 3: Sir Hamilton Harty, Sir Henry Wood
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2023
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 48 kHz
Duration: 01:17:14
Total Tracks: 16
Total Size: 737 MB


01. London Symphony Orchestra – I. Introduction (04:21)
02. London Symphony Orchestra – II. Rigaudon (01:48)
03. London Symphony Orchestra – III. Polonaise (02:05)
04. London Symphony Orchestra – IV. Arietta (04:14)
05. London Symphony Orchestra – V. Passacaglia (04:08)
06. Queens Hall Orchestra – I. Prelude from Act III “Dioclesian” (02:50)
07. Queens Hall Orchestra – II. Minuet from “Distressed Innocence” (02:00)
08. Queens Hall Orchestra – III. Largo from “Fifth Sonata for Strings in Three Parts” (03:31)
09. Queens Hall Orchestra – IV. Song of the Birds (Allegro from “Timon of Athens”) (01:26)
10. Queens Hall Orchestra – V. Vivace from “Sonata No. 1 for Strings” (01:52)
11. Queens Hall Orchestra – Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on Greensleeves (03:33)
12. Queens Hall Orchestra – Overture (08:44)
13. Queens Hall Orchestra – I. Lento – Allegro risoluto (11:43)
14. Queens Hall Orchestra – II. Lento (08:37)
15. Queens Hall Orchestra – III. Scherzo. Nocturne, allegro vivace (05:27)
16. Queens Hall Orchestra – IV. Andante con moto – Epilogue (10:50)


The Decca Conductor’s Gallery series presents an A–Z of 23 conductors in a feast of classic recordings from Decca’s early years – 1929–1949 – including the golden age of its ‘ffrr’ technology. Newly remastered from the best available sources by Mark Obert-Thorn, Ward Marston and Andrew Hallifax, this comprehensive set features several new digital releases. It is a must-have for any follower of historical recordings.Spanning almost twenty years, the unique story of this set begins in May 1929 with Decca’s first major recording, Delius’s Sea Drift – a performance whose merits were obscured at the time by surface noise, but which the latest technology reveals to be a gloriously sympathetic reading of Delius’s poignant elegy. Back then, the conductor (Anthony Bernard) was not even printed on the 78 labels; yet, for a later recording in the set, a suite of Handel, the name of Erich Kleiber stands out: a sign of how far the label travelled in its first twenty years, through some choppy commercial waters, to become a byword for technological excellence and world-class musical artistry drawn from around the globe.

The pre-war recordings inevitably centre on British/Irish conducting talent, old and new: Hamilton Harty, dynamic in Haydn and Walton; Walton himself, in a definitive first recording of Façade; atmospheric Vaughan Williams, Elgar and Coates from Henry Wood. One of the rarest items in the set is Bach’s Concerto for Two Violins as led by Mengelberg in 1936.

The post-war material includes several great names of the podium from those pre-war days, judiciously picked up by Decca when they might otherwise have been forgotten: Albert Coates whipping up a frenzy in the Russian repertoire he made his own; Clemens Krauss, incandescent in Strauss from Milan and London; Leo Blech’s genial ‘Surprise’ Symphony of Haydn.

Senior composer-conductors include Fitelberg in Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 3 and Enescu in Schumann’s Second. Then there are thrilling young podium tyros who were setting London musical life alight in the postwar years: Celibidache’s electrifying and wayward Tchaikovsky, Martinon’s exquisite Ravel, Coppola’s majestic Schumann.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: