Inga Kalna – Das Rosenband: R. Strauss, J. Medinš, A. Kalninš (2021) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz]

Inga Kalna - Das Rosenband: R. Strauss, J. Medinš, A. Kalninš (2021) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Inga Kalna
Album: Das Rosenband: R. Strauss, J. Medinš, A. Kalninš
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2021
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 49:10
Total Tracks: 19
Total Size: 815 MB


1. Inga Kalna – Allerseelen No. 8, Op. 10 (02:53)
2. Inga Kalna – Uz brītiņu (01:39)
3. Inga Kalna – Morgen! (03:49)
4. Inga Kalna – Efeja vija (02:24)
5. Inga Kalna – Breit’ über mein Haupt No. 2, Op. 19 (01:39)
6. Inga Kalna – Aicinājums (01:35)
7. Inga Kalna – Zueignung No. 1, Op.10 (01:34)
8. Inga Kalna – Jūras vaidi (01:59)
9. Inga Kalna – Ruhe, meine Seele! No. 1, Op. 27 (03:42)
10. Inga Kalna – Ūdens lilija (02:31)
11. Inga Kalna – Das Rosenband No. 1, Op. 36 (02:33)
12. Inga Kalna – Jaunā mīla (02:21)
13. Inga Kalna – Glāsts (02:16)
14. Inga Kalna – Minjona (03:28)
15. Inga Kalna – Die Nacht No. 3, Op. 10 (02:08)
16. Inga Kalna – Nocturno (01:47)
17. Inga Kalna – Heimliche Aufforderung No. 3, Op. 27 (03:11)
18. Inga Kalna – Jau aiz kalniem, jau aiz birzēm (05:34)
19. Inga Kalna – Cäcilie No. 2, Op. 27 (01:58)


This album was based on the great idea of uncovering some Lieder by two Latvian composers, Jānis Mediņš, and along the way, some by Richard Strauss. Chosen by the Latvian singer Inga Kalna, this very “Art Nouveau” programme evokes nature, various times of day, autumn leaves, the whispering sea, the waters lit by the moon and, of course, the flowers so characteristic of this artistic form that characterises the architecture of Riga; roses, lilies, ivy, a whole herbarium against a background of love and melancholy set to music by these three composers. A demanding programme requiring “absolute control of breathing and one hundred percent conviction” according to the singer.Jānis Mediņš (1890-1966) is one of the central figures of Latvian music; he was a master in the field of the Lied; and he is also credited with symphonic works and chamber music. He is also, like Alfrēds Kalniņš (1879-1951) present on this recording, as one of the founding fathers of Latvian opera. The many romances and Lieder they left behind are similar to those of Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov. Recorded in July 2020 following a series of recitals, this very original program includes almost twenty Lieder distributed among the three composers, half for Strauss who opens and closes the programme and the rest for the Latvian composers’ sensitive and expressive melodies. – François Hudry

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: