Gustav Brom – Swinging the Jazz (1967/2016) [FLAC 24 bit, 88,2 kHz]

Gustav Brom - Swinging the Jazz (1967/2016) [FLAC 24 bit, 88,2 kHz] Download

Artist: Gustav Brom
Album: Swinging the Jazz
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1967/2016
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 88,2 kHz
Duration: 37:51
Total Tracks: 11
Total Size: 736 MB


1. Big Band Gustav Brom – Lypso (02:39)
2. Big Band Gustav Brom – Dedicated to Eric (04:03)
3. Big Band Gustav Brom – Contraband (03:17)
4. Big Band Gustav Brom – Sumpf (05:11)
5. Big Band Gustav Brom – Abas (03:19)
6. Big Band Gustav Brom – Moon River (02:37)
7. Big Band Gustav Brom – Ballade Von Josef (03:31)
8. Big Band Gustav Brom – Kater Peter (02:24)
9. Big Band Gustav Brom – Waldmädchen (02:13)
10. Big Band Gustav Brom – Eigenartige Verwandte (03:42)
11. Big Band Gustav Brom – Taskenter Nächte (04:50)


Czechian Gustav Brom led one of the foremost European big bands of the 1960’s. This amazing Czechoslovakian band was rated among the top ten big bands in the world, playing festivals and concerts throughout Europe, India, and Cuba. Most of the pieces are by the band members, just one more reason why this was such a tight-knit group. Lypso swings with strong tenor and trumpet solos. On Dedicated to Eric a medium-tempo melody alternates with somber sustained chords and impressive baritone and trumpet solos. Trombones and drums start and end Contraband with a baritone-drum duet and bass solo packed in-between. Sumpf features the popular Czech singer Helena Blehárová, as she scats her way through this bluesy piece. Abas emits a bop feel and hard-swinging trumpet and sax solos. Henry Mancini’s Moon River, the only standard on the album, is given a hip treatment in ¾. The ballad Von Joseph has Gil Evans-like harmonies behind an introspective melody. Kater Peter leaps out with the trumpets leading the way. The jazz waltz Waldmächen once again features an impressive solo from Helena Blehárová. Eigenartige Verwandte mixes modernist harmonies with exemplary baritone trombone and solos. Taschkenter Nächte revolves around the reflective vibraphone solo – a fitting ending to this affirmation that jazz was alive and swinging behind the Iron Curtain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2023 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: