Gary Burton, Chick Corea, Pat Metheny, Roy Haynes, Dave Holland – Like Minds (1998/2006) [FLAC 24 bit, 88,2 kHz]

Gary Burton, Chick Corea, Pat Metheny, Roy Haynes, Dave Holland - Like Minds (1998/2006) [FLAC 24 bit, 88,2 kHz] Download

Artist: Gary Burton, Chick Corea, Pat Metheny, Roy Haynes, Dave Holland
Album: Like Minds
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1998/2006
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 88,2 kHz
Duration: 01:08:26
Total Tracks: 10
Total Size: 1,28 GB


1. Chick Corea – Question And Answer (06:22)
2. Chick Corea – Elucidation (05:22)
3. Chick Corea – Windows (06:16)
4. Chick Corea – Futures (10:39)
5. Chick Corea – Like Minds (05:52)
6. Chick Corea – Country Roads (06:26)
7. Chick Corea – Tears Of Rain (06:32)
8. Chick Corea – Soon (06:25)
9. Chick Corea – For A Thousand Years (05:21)
10. Chick Corea – Straight Up And Down (09:06)


The winner of the 1998 Grammy for Best Jazz Instrumental Performance. For this spectacular album, vibraphonist Gary Burton arranged the first recording encounter between pianist Chick Corea and guitarist Pat Metheny, and recruited an impeccable rhythm section staffed by bassist Dave Holland and drum legend Roy Haynes. LIKE MINDS, the resulting album, ranks among these musicians best work, with the kind of soul-deep communication that is often expected but so rarely occurs on all-star sessions.

This recording is simply sheer brilliance.”Dave Hughes, All About JazzTalk about all-star groups — this quintet date matches together vibraphonist Gary Burton with pianist Chick Corea, guitarist Pat Metheny, bassist Dave Holland, and drummer Roy Haynes. Burton and Corea have recorded frequently through the years, while Metheny gained some early fame working with Burton; Holland was with Corea in Miles Davis’ late-’60s group, and Haynes was formerly with both Burton and Corea. However, not all of these musicians had played together before — Corea had never worked with Metheny previously, nor Burton with Holland. No matter, the masterful players fit together quite well. The vibraphonist is the lead voice in the ensembles, where Metheny at times sounds close to Jim Hall and seems a bit restrained, but everyone gets a chance to contribute to the success of the album. Metheny contributed five songs (including “Question and Answer” and “Elucidation,” which deserves to be a standard), while Burton brought in two; Corea’s three contributions include his classic “Windows.” The lone standard is George Gershwin’s “Soon.” The music is modern straight-ahead jazz; the solos are concise and the rhythm section is quite tight. In fact, this sounds like a regularly working band. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2023 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: