Don McLean – Botanical Gardens (2018) [FLAC 24 bit, 44,1 kHz]

Don McLean - Botanical Gardens (2018) [FLAC 24 bit, 44,1 kHz] Download

Artist: Don McLean
Album: Botanical Gardens
Genre: Pop
Release Date: 2018
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 44,1 kHz
Duration: 49:30
Total Tracks: 13
Total Size: 343 MB


1. Don McLean – Botanical Gardens (03:48)
2. Don McLean – The Lucky Guy (03:19)
3. Don McLean – A Total Eclipse of the Sun (04:26)
4. Don McLean – Waving Man (04:22)
5. Don McLean – When July Comes (03:36)
6. Don McLean – You’re All I Ever Had (04:20)
7. Don McLean – Rock and Roll Your Baby (04:54)
8. Don McLean – I’ve Cried All the Tears That I Have (03:00)
9. Don McLean – Ain’t She a Honey (02:59)
10. Don McLean – The King of Fools (04:47)
11. Don McLean – Grief and Hope (03:48)
12. Don McLean – You’ve Got Such Beautiful Eyes (03:35)
13. Don McLean – Last Night When We Were Young (02:31)


Don McLean is one of America’s most enduring singer-songwriters and forever associated with his classic hits “American Pie”, “Vincent (Starry Starry Night)”, “Castles in the Air”, “And I Love You So” and “Crying”. Since first hitting the charts in 1971, Don has amassed over 40 gold and platinum records world-wide and, in 2004, was inducted into the Songwriters’ Hall of Fame. Moving forwards in 2018, Don McLean has a new record deal with BMG for the release of his latest album “Botanical Gardens”, supported by international touring including live dates in UK in April and May with dates in Ireland in May and June 2018.One never knows what Don McLean will do next or when, for that matter. Botanical Gardens is his first studio album since 2009’s Addicted To Black. So it has been a while for McLean but it has been well worth the wait. It is also his 21st album, and the man keeps on finding new things to sing about, and new ways in which to express himself. A true artist.

“I’ll leave you the noise, and the dark city canyons.”, and the album and title track, “Botanical Gardens” have begun. Opening with a standard rock sound, not noisy, but loud, which is an interesting juxtaposition with the subject material of the song. The song, and the album, are a look inwards. This seems to be the overall theme of the album. McLean may look inwards, but the theme and mini themes of this album are universal. Love, relationships, mortality, peace, a troubled world, all get their turns in this garden, and he comes at each topic with typical McLean honesty, wit and humility. He does not have the answers but he does have the questions and the issues to be addressed. Not every song is a manifesto, some are just fun country/rock songs (“Rock ‘n’ Roll Your Baby”) while others are somewhat painful, yet paired with a relatively happy bluesy melody (“I’ve Cried All The Tears I Have”) . There is a lot going on in his Botanical Gardens. “Grief and Hope” is a wonderful song that one could imagine Hank Williams writing had he lived. Well structured, melodic and brilliant lyrics. That is the thing with this album, he writes so incredibly well that the listener almost takes the songs for granted. “When July Comes” is a highlight of the album, a painfully personal song, that is done in the best McLean style, and is the one song that harkens back to his singer/songwriter past. It is a haunting, piano based song with a wonderful string arrangement and I think the best vocals McLean has ever performed. Some of the songs found on this album have been around for a while. He has performed some during his last few tours, but here they sound fresh, and he breathes such life into them that all the songs sound custom made for this release. The album finishes with a beautiful cover of a song made famous by Sinatra, “Last Night When We Were Young”, a beautiful, melancholy song, reflecting on life, age and companionship. It is a beautiful way to end the album and a beautiful bookend with “Botanical Gardens”.

Botanical Gardens is a brilliant album. With McLean embarking on a tour to promote the album, one can only hope that it is not another eight years for a new album from him. In the meantime, there is a lot on this album to enjoy and dig into.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: