Diana Panton – Red (2014) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz]

Diana Panton - Red (2014) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Diana Panton
Album: Red
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2014
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 01:01:29
Total Tracks: 13
Total Size: 1,25 GB


01. Diana Panton – Say It (Over and Over Again) (06:14)
02. Diana Panton – That’s All (04:00)
03. Diana Panton – You’re the Top (04:10)
04. Diana Panton – You’re My Thrill (04:41)
05. Diana Panton – Make Yourself Comfortable (04:32)
06. Diana Panton – 24 Hours a Day (03:34)
07. Diana Panton – The Island (05:36)
08. Diana Panton – Isn’t That the Thing to Do (04:26)
09. Diana Panton – Who Cares? (03:36)
10. Diana Panton – Love Dance (05:53)
11. Diana Panton – I Know Why and so Do You (05:06)
12. Diana Panton – I Only Love Because of You (04:07)
13. Diana Panton – Amazing (05:29)


As a follow-up to her critically acclaimed pink album (2011 Silver Disc Award Winner in Japan) about first love, Diana Panton’s red album is a profound expression about deeper love that is not for the faint of heart. Diana leads a stellar group of Canada’s finest musicians from both the classical and jazz worlds in the creation of an album of rare beauty and emotional intensity. Don Thompson (Order of Canada) specially tailored string quartet arrangements, plus harp to compliment Panton’s ethereal voice. Phil Dwyer’s saxophone (2012 JUNO Award Winner) provides a wonderful counterpoint to Panton’s pure vocals and underscores the sensuality of much of the album. Don Thompson, Reg Schwager and Jim Vivian round out the ensemble with sensitive performances. There is also a delectable duet with bluesman Harrison Kennedy that has unbeatable chemistry! With six critically acclaimed releases in about as many years, Diana Panton is poised to take the jazz world by storm. Her impressive catalogue has garnered two Silver Disc Awards in Japan, three Juno nominations, five Hamilton Music Awards and a host of National Jazz Award nominations, as well as Canadian and U.S. Independent Music Award nominations and an invitation to perform at the prestigious Jazz à Juan, Révélations in France. She recently returned from a successful first tour of Asia where her albums have had Top 10 sales chart success in Taiwan and Hong Kong. One gets the feeling this is just the tip of the iceberg for Panton…On her new album of love songs – Red – Diana Panton has further expanded and perfected her range of musical expression. The album showcases an impressive variety of sophisticated love songs. Once again she is backed by the exceptional guitarist Reg Schwager, Don Thompson on the piano and vibes with his colleagues Phil Dwyer on saxophone and Jim Vivian on bass. Thompson’s’ arrangements for a string quartet and harp give the jazz quartet a particularly powerful and elegant complexion. –NU:ANCE, The Magazine for Digital Audiophiles, Germany

Holly Cole, Diana Krall, Sophie Milman … Canada has introduced some big names into the world of female vocal jazz so far. Now Diana Panton is poised to be the next star there. Often compared to Blossom Dearie, Diana sings gently like a sweet whisper, but this doesn’t mean that she simply lures us in with the calming atmosphere she creates. I can assure you that her technique as a singer is more solid than many vocalists who may present themselves as technical gymnasts. For Diana, her technique is rather a vehicle for expression, so that her musical message reaches the listener. Her prior album, pink had a theme of “new love”, and the romance has moved to the next level in this new album RED. Diana’s expression doesn’t lose any of its grace in communicating these mature love songs and further reveals her purity. In addition, the elegant sounding arrangements by Don Thompson, who has supported Diana since her debut, are truly superb. –Jazz Japan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 hi-res.me - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: