David Grisman Quintet, David Grisman – Dawgwood (1993/2021) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz]

David Grisman Quintet, David Grisman - Dawgwood (1993/2021) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: David Grisman Quintet, David Grisman
Album: Dawgwood
Genre: Jazz, Americana, Choro
Release Date: 1993/2021
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 01:05:25
Total Tracks: 11
Total Size: 1,28 GB


1. David Grisman Quintet – Dawgwood (03:27)
2. David Grisman Quintet – Dawgmatism (06:40)
3. David Grisman Quintet – Jazzin’ (with Joe-Bob) (05:36)
4. David Grisman Quintet – Sea of Cortez (06:21)
5. David Grisman Quintet – Steppin’ with Stephane (06:42)
6. David Grisman Quintet – Bolero de Django (06:00)
7. David Grisman Quintet – Assanhado (06:17)
8. David Grisman Quintet – New Dawg’s Rag (09:03)
9. David Grisman Quintet – Flatbush Waltz (03:43)
10. David Grisman Quintet – Janice (05:03)
11. David Grisman Quintet – Anouman (06:29)


David Grisman’s self-named “Dawg” music defies traditional categories, as it is such a unique blend of many influences, including bluegrass, jazz, gypsy music, Latin, and so much more. He’s joined by flutist Matt Eakle, percussionist and violinist Joe Craven, bassist Jim Kerwin, and guitarist Rick Montgomery. The veteran mandolinist wrote six of the eight songs, starting with the cheerful opener, which features everyone in turn. The intricate waltz “Dawgmatism” adds an exotic flavor with Craven’s violin and Eakle’s haunting flute. “Jazzin’ (With Joe-Bob)” is a wild masterpiece (later appearing in slightly different form on his compilation DGQ-20 with jazz DJ Al “Jazzbeaux” Collins as “Jazzin’ With Jazzbeaux”), with Craven providing percussion on bongos (and vocals with assorted hisses and comments) as well as overdubbing a slashing violin solo. “Steppin’ With Stephane” was originally recorded by Grisman with its honoree, jazz violin great Stephane Grappelli. This version is lighter but every bit as swinging. “Bolero de Django,” composed by Django Reinhardt, has a definite gypsy air, though Eakle’s alto flute gives the piece a more modern flavor. “New Dawg’s Rag” is an updated arrangement of an earlier Grisman chart; while the instrumentation has been changed, the impact of this brilliant performance is still pure magic. Throughout this release, Grisman’s playing is nothing short of phenomenal. It should come as no surprise that fans of David Grisman should consider this CD an essential purchase. – Ken Dryden

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 hi-res.me - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: