David Gray – Skellig (2021) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz]

David Gray - Skellig (2021) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: David Gray
Album: Skellig
Genre: Pop
Release Date: 2021
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 56:12
Total Tracks: 13
Total Size: 1,14 GB


1. David Gray – Skellig (05:00)
2. David Gray – Dún Laoghaire (04:32)
3. David Gray – Accumulates (04:57)
4. David Gray – Heart and Soul (04:20)
5. David Gray – Laughing Gas (03:20)
6. David Gray – No False Gods (02:09)
7. David Gray – Deep Water Swim (04:08)
8. David Gray – Spiral Arms (06:55)
9. David Gray – The White Owl (03:48)
10. David Gray – Dares My Heart Be Free (06:05)
11. David Gray – House with No Walls (03:43)
12. David Gray – Can’t Hurt More Than This (04:32)
13. David Gray – All That We Asked For (02:38)


After his 1998 hit record ‘White Ladder’ and his most recent 2019 album ‘Gold in a Brass Age’, David Gray treats us to a new emotional rollercoaster with 2021’s ‘Skellig’. This delicate album, steeped in deep melancholy and painful sorrow tells the story of Skellig Michael, an island off the coast of Ireland, which devout pilgrims would travel to in a desperate and perilous search of God. One can only imagine the desolation and the forlorn life some would have led there, far from civilisation. This bleakness is evoked throughout ‘Skellig’ with its languishing acoustic guitar, sombre piano and haunting vocals. Simplicity is king on this record, from its instrumentation to its arrangements, there are no musical redundancies or pretentious harmonic structures. It’s music that is boiled down to its richest, most potent form where the superfluous is eagerly omitted. Album highlight ‘Deep Water Swim’ is an elegant piano/drum led piece that would be right at home on a Leif Vollebekk record. Gray’s characterful vocal performance gives the track a charming tone. The second verse takes you away with the introduction of a curious yet gentle stuttering synth and a warm double bass filling out the low end. This, coupled with the lush backing vocals, creates a thick, alluring atmosphere that could warm the coldest of hearts. Nothing short of bliss… All in all, ‘Skellig’ is a well-balanced, refined and poignant record that merits a long and compassionate listen. Give it a go, this album will put you in touch with your feelings. – Tom Oscar Adams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 hi-res.me - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: