Charles Münch – Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé, M. 57 (1955 Recording) (2017) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz]

Charles Münch - Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé, M. 57 (1955 Recording) (2017) [FLAC 24 bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Charles Münch
Album: Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé, M. 57 (1955 Recording)
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2017
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24 bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 54:27
Total Tracks: 23
Total Size: 1,17 GB


1 Scene 1: Invocation to the Nymphs 06:25
2 Scene 1: Entrance of Daphnis and Chloé 00:49
3 Scene 1: Dance of the Young Girls Around Daphnis 00:59
4 Scene 1: Dorcon’s Advance to Chloé 02:12
5 Scene 1: Daphnis Reasserts His Love for Chloé. The Dorcon-Daphnis Dance Contest for a Kiss from Chloé 00:32
6 Scene 1: Dorcon’s Grotesque Dance 01:37
7 Scene 1: The Gracious Dance of Daphnis 02:31
8 Scene 1: The Triumph of Daphnis and the Ecstatic Union with Chloé 00:57
9 Scene 1: Entrance of the Temptress Lyceion and Dance of Veils 02:00
10 Scene 1: The Invasion of the Pirates and Daphnis’s Unsuccessful Efforts to Save Chloé 01:41
11 Scene 1: Invocation to Pan by the Nymphs and the Prayer of Daphnis 05:03
12 Scene 2: Interlude 03:15
13 Scene 2: The Orgiastic Dance of the Pirates 03:59
14 Scene 2: Bryaxis Orders Chloé to Be Brought Forward and to Dance 00:29
15 Scene 2: Chloé’s Dance of Supplication 04:15
16 Scene 2: Creatures of Pan Appear and Frighten the Pirates, Who Flee in Terror, Leaving Chloé Alone with a Shining Crown 01:11
17 Scene 3: Sunrise. Daphnis Prostrate at the Grotto of the Nymphs 03:47
18 Scene 3: Daphnis and Chloé are Reunited 01:49
19 Scene 3: Lammon Tells How Pan Saved Chloé in Memory of His Love for the Nymph Syrinx. Daphnis and Chloè Act out the Story. 02:02
20 Scene 3: Pan (Daphnis) Fashions a Flute from Some Reeds, on Which He Declares His Love for Syrinx (Chloé) 02:27
21 Scene 3: Abandoning Their Roles, the Lovers Embrace and Kneel at the Altar of the Nymphs 02:06
22 Scene 3: Girls Dressed as Bacchantes Enter with Tambourines 00:13
23 Scene 3: Young Men Invade the Scene, and Joyous Tumult Prevails in Tribute to the Triumph of the Lovers 03:58


„Ravel’s magnificent “choreographic symphony” was the musical preserve of two great French conductors, Pierre Monteux and Charles Munch. Munch recorded the work twice for RCA, and this is the earlier of his two versions. Neither is better than the other. To the composer’s customary brilliance of sound, Munch added an almost physical urgency and impact. Listening to this colorful performance, you can really hear stuff happening from one moment to the next. The actual plot is irrelevant to your enjoyment. What stays with you is a sense of movement, of thrills and chills on the way to a gloriously happy ending.“ (David Hurwitz)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: