Cat Power – Covers (2022) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz]

Cat Power - Covers (2022) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Cat Power
Album: Covers
Genre: Indie Rock
Release Date: 2022
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 43:21
Total Tracks: 12
Total Size: 757 MB


01. Cat Power – Bad Religion (04:20)
02. Cat Power – Unhate (02:44)
03. Cat Power – Pa Pa Power (03:10)
04. Cat Power – White Mustang (03:00)
05. Cat Power – A Pair Of Brown Eyes (03:42)
06. Cat Power – Against the Wind (03:13)
07. Cat Power – Endless Sea (03:35)
08. Cat Power – These Days (03:44)
09. Cat Power – It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels (02:33)
10. Cat Power – I Had a Dream Joe (04:39)
11. Cat Power – Here Comes A Regular (05:14)
12. Cat Power – I’ll Be Seeing You (03:22)


There’s nothing in the world like a Cat Power cover version. The artist also known as Chan Marshall made herself known as one of the 21st century’s finest interpreters of other artists’ material – her re-imaginings as emotionally devastating as they are decidedly dreamlike – at the very beginning of the millennium.

On 2000’s ‘The Covers Record’, she found new elegance in trad-rock and butch blues – from the Rolling Stones’ ‘Satisfaction’ to The Velvet Underground’s ‘I Found A Reason’ – before doubling down on 2008’s ‘Jukebox’, which made woozy inroads into country and folk with torchy and twinkling takes on classics by Hank Williams, Joni Mitchell and country blues legend Jessie Mae Hemphill.

Initially an answer to a time in Marshall’s life when she felt more at ease singing other people’s songs than her own, her cover versions now possess a strength all of their own, with the self-produced ‘Covers’ setting itself apart from its predecessors by veering into the modern mainstream. Here material by Frank Ocean (‘Bad Religion’) and Lana Del Rey (‘White Mustang’) appears alongside the more long-established likes of Nick Cave (‘I Had A Dream, Joe’), Jackson Browne (‘These Days’) and The Pogues (‘A Pair of Brown Eyes’). Marshall has carefully selected each song to reflect a personal memory.

A tender, sparse take on Billie Holiday’s ‘I’ll Be Seeing You’ was a favourite of her grandmother’s and a mournful, piano-led, rendering of The Replacements’ ‘Here Comes a Regular’ reminds Marshall of spending her final dollar to play the song on a New York City jukebox. Sadness is an art, and here Cat Power does it exceptionally well.By now, Chan Marshall (aka Cat Power) is an old hand at choosing songs to interpret. On this, her third album of catholic covers, she makes that clear right out of the gate. Her interpretation of Frank Ocean’s “Bad Religion”—a spare heartbreaker and one of the most painfully intimate songs of the past decade—is a marvel in that it takes an already perfect song and makes it even more haunting by tapping into a different dimension. There’s a lived-in depth, a beautiful reminder of how Marshall has grown into her voice, which used to be a tentative instrument and now is arrestingly yet comfortably assured. Adding more musical layers, including multiple vocal tracks, she underscores how the song is not just about the swelling ache of unrequited love but also the acceptance of what that means about you. Marshall makes Lana Del Rey’s sleepy-eyed ballad “White Mustang” into more of a sexy slow roll that quickens its pace at the chorus—becoming a noir prowl, like from some spy thriller. “You’re revvin’ and revvin’ and revvin’ it up/ And the sound, it was frightening,” Marshall sings like she means it, all the gauze of the original torn aside. Her own song “Hate,” a bleak blues lament from 2006’s The Greatest, evolves as “Unhate”: bigger, bolder and with ghostly vocal effects. The pounding, relentless nightmare of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ “I Had a Dream, Joe” is transformed into a Lynchian fever dream. The effect sounds, truly, like an early Cat Power song—nervous, threatening, skittish, ready to bolt at any moment. Marshall lets slide the cynicism of the Replacements’ bittersweet beauty “Here Comes a Regular,” leaving the tender ache of hopelessness on full display. The Pogues’ trad-folk chanty “A Pair of Brown Eyes” is stripped back to a holy-sounding hymn, organ humming and Marshall’s voice a mesmerizing round-robin of harmony. “It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels” becomes mischievous and winking, slowed down to a lazy summer drawl with back-alley bass. Bob Seger’s “Against the Wind,” here almost witchy in its femininity, is completely unrecognizable. Marshall puts a swoony, smoky cabaret sheen on the jazz standard “I’ll Be Seeing You.” And a faithful cover of “These Days”—originally written by a 16-year-old Jackson Browne and made famous by Nico—is exactly what you want to hear from Marshall: husky and shadowy, excruciatingly beautiful, endlessly satisfying. – Shelly Ridenour

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: