Benny Golson – Horizon Ahead (2016) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz]

Benny Golson - Horizon Ahead (2016) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Benny Golson
Album: Horizon Ahead
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2016
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 54:58
Total Tracks: 10
Total Size: 1,08 GB


01. Benny Golson – Don’t Get Around Much Anymore (06:16)
02. Benny Golson – Jump Start (03:10)
03. Benny Golson – Horizon Ahead (06:03)
04. Benny Golson – Mood Indigo (04:16)
05. Benny Golson – Domingo (08:41)
06. Benny Golson – Lulu’s Back in Town (04:40)
07. Benny Golson – Night Shade (05:28)
08. Benny Golson – Three Little Words (05:57)
09. Benny Golson – Spoken Introduction to out of the Darkness, and into the Light (02:39)
10. Benny Golson – Out of the Darkness, and into the Light (07:43)


Benny Golson is an American bebop/hard bop jazz tenor saxophonist, composer, and arranger. He came to prominence with the big bands of Lionel Hampton and Dizzy Gillespie, more as a writer than a performer, before launching his solo career. All About Jazz’s Jack Bowers stated “At age eighty-seven, saxophonist Benny Golson is one of the last surviving links to the Golden Age of modern jazz”.If John Coltrane came to personify a profound spiritual yearning, what has his boyhood friend Benny Golson signified? A personal brand of stately elegance, in everything from his appearance, with his dapper mustache out of classic Hollywood; to his playing, a flawless balance of elegant and earthy; his composing, with its meticulous craftsmanship yielding effortless melodies; and his onstage storytelling, which crosses from erudition into delightful eccentricity. All of those elements-even the mustache-are in play on Golson’s most recent album, Horizon Ahead, his HighNote label debut and his first new release since a 2009 outing with a relaunched Jazztet. A quartet date featuring the lived-in rhythm section of pianist Mike LeDonne, bassist Buster Williams and drummer Carl Allen, it matches choice standards (“Don’t Get Around Much Anymore” has rarely been so hummable) with Golson originals (the deceptively accessible “Jump Start”; “Domingo,” written for Lee Morgan Vol. 3), and ends with a curveball. Following an astute spoken introduction from Golson-just the sort of thing you’d hear in your local theater-Allen offers a highly listenable solo drum-kit piece. Neither blowing session nor conceptual work, Horizon Ahead is simply terrific.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: