Ben E. King – Don’t Play That Song (Mono) (1962/2014) [FLAC 24bit, 192 kHz]

Ben E. King - Don't Play That Song (Mono) (1962/2014) [FLAC 24bit, 192 kHz] Download

Artist: Ben E. King
Album: Don’t Play That Song (Mono)
Genre: Soul
Release Date: 1962/2014
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 192 kHz
Duration: 30:10
Total Tracks: 12
Total Size: 633 MB


01. Ben E. King – Don’t Play That Song (You Lied) (02:58)
02. Ben E. King – Ecstasy (02:32)
03. Ben E. King – On The Horizon (02:23)
04. Ben E. King – Show Me The Way (02:19)
05. Ben E. King – Here Comes The Night (02:29)
06. Ben E. King – First Taste Of Love (02:20)
07. Ben E. King – Stand By Me (03:00)
08. Ben E. King – Yes (03:02)
09. Ben E. King – Young Boy Blues (02:22)
10. Ben E. King – The Hermit Of Misty Mountain (02:27)
11. Ben E. King – I Promise Love (02:07)
12. Ben E. King – Brace Yourself (02:05)


Don’t Play That Song! is the third studio album by Ben E. King. The album was released by Atlantic Records as an LP in 1962 and was home to five notable singles: “Stand by Me”, “Ecstasy”, “First Taste of Love”, “Here Comes the Night”, and the title track, “Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)”.„Ben E. King’s third album is a little short in running time but very high in quality, in terms of the dozen songs here. The title track was the selling point, but couldn’t help but be seduced by the exquisite production of ‘Ecstasy’ and ‘On the Horizon,’ the latter making about as fine use of harps and an ethereal chorus as one imagines possible — and when the strings come in, violins and cellos alternately, the sheer beauty of the track just overflows. ‘Show Me the Way to Your Heart’ isn’t too far behind, and then ‘Stand by Me’ shores up the opening of the second side — not that anything here needed shoring up, but it’s good that they got the single onto a long-player so it didn’t go to waste. Even the lesser material, like ‘Here Comes the Night’ and ‘First Taste of Love’ (the latter a Jerry Leiber/Phil Spector song that bears an uncanny resemblance to Arthur Alexander’s ‘You Better Move On’), is interesting to hear for the lively production. This album, like its predecessors, dates from a period in which producers and engineers were figuring out what one could do with soul and R&B in terms of engineering, and the sound separation and textures are nothing if not vibrant and alluring in their own right, separate from the music.“ –Bruce Eder

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: