Axel Flóvent – You Stay by the Sea (2021) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz]

Axel Flóvent - You Stay by the Sea (2021) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Axel Flóvent
Album: You Stay by the Sea
Genre: Folk
Release Date: 2021
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 45:06
Total Tracks: 12
Total Size: 891 MB


01. Axel Flóvent – Tonight (03:53)
02. Axel Flóvent – Driving Hours (03:47)
03. Axel Flóvent – Tourist (03:44)
04. Axel Flóvent – December Traffic (03:33)
05. Axel Flóvent – Blood (03:28)
06. Axel Flóvent – Fall Asleep (04:06)
07. Axel Flóvent – Still Awake (03:56)
08. Axel Flóvent – Indefinite (03:52)
09. Axel Flóvent – How Can I (04:16)
10. Axel Flóvent – Haunted (03:52)
11. Axel Flóvent – Fireworks (04:00)
12. Axel Flóvent – You Stay by the Sea (02:32)


Rising Icelandic singer-songwriter Axel Flóvent calls Reykjavík home, but also the inspiration behind his upcoming full-length debut, You Stay By The Sea (out January 15 via Nettwerk Records). As if forming aural clouds from the natural elements around him, the music gathers acoustic guitar, piano, and warm electronics across the twelve songs that make up the album.“It’s just quiet,” Axel explains. “There are so many times where the silence is so still. In Reykjavík, we have a lot of emotional and mental space. My path to the studio and running trail is just by the ocean, so I’m always by the sea, hence the title. When I moved back in late 2018, I felt settled. I wasn’t looking for anything anymore. I finally appreciate home and see the beauty in it.”

He needed to leave to reach this realization. Born and raised in the tiny Northern fishing village of Húsavík, Axel recorded his first EP Forest Fires, it was here where the songs were written under the influence of everything from Bon Iver to Bombay Bicycle Club, generating over 40 million streams on the title track. With its success, Axel left Húsavík and signed to a major record label in the Netherlands. At 19 years old, he moved into his first apartment and “felt so isolated.” He admits, “I was supposed to be in a music mecca, but I never left the apartment.” So, he traded Amsterdam for the British seaside town of Brighton where he recorded his Youthful Hearts EP. Living in Brighton gave Axel “the clarity to move to Iceland.” Axel returned to Iceland and chose to plant roots in Reykjavík.

Tapping into the D.I.Y. spirit of his earliest recordings, but with a sense of refinement and newfound wisdom, Axel carefully assembled the album with producer Ian Grimble (1975, Benjamin Francis Leftwich, Daughter, Bear’s Den, Mumford & Sons). He incorporated brass on nearly every tune, adding a robust organic energy to the tracks. Simultaneously, he chronicled his personal and musical growth. “The ultimate goal was to bind together my old way of writing songs with what I’ve learned and made it sound like one collective,” he elaborates. “Some of these ideas go back to my bedroom in Húsavík, but many of them are fresh and new. I pictured myself on a journey.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: