Astrud Gilberto – Beach Samba (1967/2014) [FLAC 24bit, 192 kHz]

Astrud Gilberto - Beach Samba (1967/2014) [FLAC 24bit, 192 kHz] Download

Artist: Astrud Gilberto
Album: Beach Samba
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1967/2014
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 192 kHz
Duration: 27:54
Total Tracks: 12
Total Size: 1,18 GB


01. Astrud Gilberto – Stay (02:42)
02. Astrud Gilberto – Misty Roses (02:37)
03. Astrud Gilberto – The Face I Love (02:07)
04. Astrud Gilberto – Parade (A Banda) (02:08)
05. Astrud Gilberto – Oba, Oba (02:01)
06. Astrud Gilberto – Canoeiro (01:34)
07. Astrud Gilberto – I Had The Craziest Dream (02:27)
08. Astrud Gilberto – Beach Samba (02:49)
09. Astrud Gilberto – My Foolish Heart (02:44)
10. Astrud Gilberto – I Think Of You (02:24)
11. Astrud Gilberto – You Didn’t Have To Be So Nice (02:42)
12. Astrud Gilberto – Nao Bate O Corocao (01:34)


Originally released in 1967, Astrud Gilberto’s „Beach Samba“ is one of the Brazilian songstress’ classic albums. The bossa nova craze–ignited in 1963, by Gilberto herself, with her lovely, artless vocal on Stan Getz’s ‘The Girl from Ipanema’–was winding down.

The album sees Gilberto stretching beyond her usual collection of bossa novas and sambas, though the title track and ‘Nao Bate O Corocao’ are two of her best, into relaxed, swinging versions of such pop standards as ‘Misty Roses’ and ‘My Foolish Heart.’ Perhaps the oddest inclusion is a cover of The Lovin’ Spoonful’s ‘You Didn’t Have To Be So Nice,’ sung by Gilberto as a duet with her eight-year-old son, which is better than you might expect.

Like the album as a whole, it’s perfectly charming and delightful. Peculiarly, the album ends with five tracks from Gilberto’s classic 1966 album with the Walter Wanderley Trio.One of Gilberto’s less impressive ’60s Verve outings, primarily due to the more pop-oriented song selection. Much of this is just standard pleasant Gilberto: offhand vocals and a sumptuous Brazil pop-cum-U.S. orchestration feel (Ron Carter and Toots Thielemans are among the sidemen). And some of the pop choices work well, particularly Tim Hardin’s gorgeous “Misty Roses.” No vocals or arrangements, however, could save the criminally wrong-headed military march of “A Banda (Parade),” or the exasperatingly coochie-coochie duet between Gilberto and her six-year-old son on the Lovin’ Spoonful’s “You Didn’t Have to Be So Nice.” Which makes it all the more surprising when the next and concluding track, “Nao Bate O Corocao,” has Gilberto cutting loose with confident, sassy scats, as she rarely did before or since. The CD reissue improves matters by adding five bonus cuts from A Certain Smile a Certain Sadness, recorded in 1966 in more authentically bossa nova-style arrangements, anchored by organist Walter Wanderley. –Richie Unterberger

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: