Art Pepper – Modern Jazz Classics (1959/2006) [FLAC 24bit, 88,2 kHz]

Art Pepper - Modern Jazz Classics (1959/2006) [FLAC 24bit, 88,2 kHz] Download

Artist: Art Pepper
Album: Modern Jazz Classics
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1959/2006
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 88,2 kHz
Duration: 54:37
Total Tracks: 15
Total Size: 1,11 GB


1. Art Pepper – Move (03:27)
2. Art Pepper – Groovin’ High (03:25)
3. Art Pepper – Opus De Funk (03:13)
4. Art Pepper – ‘Round Midnight (03:34)
5. Art Pepper – Four Brothers (03:00)
6. Art Pepper – Shaw ‘Nuff (03:00)
7. Art Pepper – Bernie’s Tune (02:46)
8. Art Pepper – Walkin’ Shoes (03:33)
9. Art Pepper – Anthropology (03:19)
10. Art Pepper – Airegin (03:02)
11. Art Pepper – Walkin’ (05:17)
12. Art Pepper – Walkin’ (04:59)
13. Art Pepper – Walkin’ (05:03)
14. Art Pepper – Donna Lee (03:23)
15. Art Pepper – Donna Lee (03:27)


Certainly one of the most important sessions in Pepper’s entire recording career, if not the history of jazz, this classic 1959 recording features the legendary sax player backed by an astounding big band that includes drummer Mel Lewis and alto sax icon Bud Shank. The album features brilliant arrangements by Marty Paich (who would later orchestrate for artists like Carly Simon and Elton John).This is a true classic. Altoist Art Pepper is joined by an 11-piece band playing Marty Paich arrangements of a dozen jazz standards from the bop and cool jazz era. Trumpeter Jack Sheldon has a few solos, but the focus is very much on the altoist who is in peak form for this period. The reissue adds two additional versions of “Walkin’” and one of “Donna Lee” to the original program. Throughout, Pepper sounds quite inspired by Paich’s charts which feature the band as an active part of the music rather than just in the background. Highlights of this highly enjoyable set include “Move,” “Four Brothers,” “Shaw Nuff,” “Anthropology,” and “Donna Lee,” but there is not a single throwaway track to be heard. Essential music for all serious jazz collections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: