Annie Ross – Handful of Songs (1963/2018) [FLAC 24bit, 44,1 kHz]

Annie Ross - Handful of Songs (1963/2018) [FLAC 24bit, 44,1 kHz] Download

Artist: Annie Ross
Album: Handful of Songs
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 1963/2018
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 44,1 kHz
Duration: 36:07
Total Tracks: 12
Total Size: 390 MB


1. Annie Ross – A Handful of Songs (02:24)
2. Annie Ross – All of You (02:36)
3. Annie Ross – Fly Me to the Moon (03:04)
4. Annie Ross – Nature Boy (02:35)
5. Annie Ross – What’s New (04:04)
6. Annie Ross – Love for Sale (04:18)
7. Annie Ross – A Lot of Livin’ to Do (01:57)
8. Annie Ross – Let Me Love You (02:50)
9. Annie Ross – All the Things You Are (02:57)
10. Annie Ross – I’m Gonna Go Fishin’ (03:06)
11. Annie Ross – Like Someone in Love (03:26)
12. Annie Ross – Limehouse Blues (02:45)


By 1963, Annie Ross had permanently moved back to England and had started working more as an actress than as a singer. This interesting set (reissued by DCC as an audiophile CD) features Ross backed by an orchestra arranged and conducted by Johnnie Spence. The obvious high point is one of the darkest and scariest versions of “Love For Sale” ever recorded; Ross’ desperate-sounding rendition is haunting. Otherwise, she performs a variety of standards in lightly swinging fashion, not scatting or using vocalese but instead working on interpreting the lyrics. Other highlights include “All of You,” “Nature Boy,” “Like Someone in Love” and “Limehouse Blues.” This worthy set was also put out on CD by the Fresh Sound label.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: