Anne Akiko Meyers – Mirror in Mirror (2018) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz]

Anne Akiko Meyers - Mirror in Mirror (2018) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Anne Akiko Meyers
Album: Mirror in Mirror
Genre: Classical
Release Date: 2018
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 01:03:47
Total Tracks: 8
Total Size: 1,12 GB


1-01. Anne Akiko Meyers – Metamorphosis II (07:15)
1-02. Anne Akiko Meyers – Fratres (10:44)
1-03. Anne Akiko Meyers – Spiegel im Spiegel (07:17)
1-04. Anne Akiko Meyers – Tzigane, M. 76 (09:46)
1-05. Anne Akiko Meyers – Lullaby for Natalie (04:51)
1-06. Anne Akiko Meyers – Edo Lullaby (06:21)
1-07. Anne Akiko Meyers – Wreck of the Umbria (10:46)
1-08. Anne Akiko Meyers – O Magnum Mysterium (06:43)


‘Mirror in Mirror’ is the most personal recording to date by best-selling violinist Anne Akiko Meyers, a reflective and spiritual journey that weaves a beautiful story through commissions and arrangements by Philip Glass, John Corigliano, Jakob Ciupinski and Morten Lauridsen, alongside works by Arvo Part and Maurice Ravel.

Superstar violinist Anne Akiko Meyers is one of today’s most in-demand classical performers. A Billboard Top Selling Classical Instrumentalist of the Year, she is beloved by audiences around the world, with a reputation for innovative programmes and ground-breaking commissions. Mirror in Mirror marks her 36th studio album and is her most personal project to date.With the exception of Ravel, Anne collaborated with all of the composers and arrangers on this album. Several of the works were written for her. The music is reflective and spiritual, and weaves a compelling story. Philip Glass’ Metamorphosis II is heard in an arrangement commissioned by Anne. The original version inspired Fratres by Arvo Part, whose Spiegel im Spiegel (Mirror in Mirror) provides the album’s title. John Corigliano’s Lullaby for Natalie was written to commemorate the birth of Anne’s first daughter. Anne has commissioned numerous works by Jakob Ciupinski who combines acoustic instruments with electronics in Edo Lullaby – a modern setting of a traditional Japanese melody that Anne recalls from her childhood – and Wreck of the Umbria which conjures the composer’s dive and discovery of the ship off the coast of Sudan. Ciupinski contributes electronics to Ravel’s Tzigane, re-creating the sound of the original version’s lutheal. The album is capped by another Anne commission – the premiere recording of Morten Lauridsen’s own arrangement for violin and orchestra of his most famous choral composition, O Magnum Mysterium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: