Anna Webber – Idiom (2021) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz]

Anna Webber - Idiom (2021) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Anna Webber
Album: Idiom
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2021
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 01:44:28
Total Tracks: 12
Total Size: 1,97 GB


1. Anna Webber – Idiom I (11:17)
2. Anna Webber – Idiom IV (07:47)
3. Anna Webber – Forgotten Best (08:39)
4. Anna Webber – Idiom V (04:48)
5. Anna Webber – Idiom III (10:01)
6. Anna Webber – Idiom VI – Movement I (08:41)
7. Anna Webber – Idiom VI – Interlude 1 (03:34)
8. Anna Webber – Idiom VI – Movement II (09:10)
9. Anna Webber – Idiom VI – Interlude 2 & Movement III (12:19)
10. Anna Webber – Idiom VI – Movement IV (07:06)
11. Anna Webber – Idiom VI – Interlude 3 & Movement V (11:27)
12. Anna Webber – Idiom VI – Interlude 4 & Movement VI (09:33)


Idiom by composer/saxophonist/ flutist Anna Webber is the follow-up to her critically-acclaimed release Clockwise, which the Wall Street Journal called “visionary and captivating” and NPR described as “heady music [that] appeal to the rest of the body.” Idiom is a series of six pieces, each of which is based on a specific woodwind extended technique – a broad term meaning any non-traditional way of producing sound on an instrument, including the use of multiphonics, alternate fingerings, key clicks, overblown notes, and the like – that she has taken from her own improvisational language. The works are the upshot of her belief that jazz composers/performers are in a privileged position to create the perfect vehicles for themselves as improvisers. As a frequent user of extended techniques in her own playing, Webber set out to create a continuum between her compositional and improvisatory vocabulary, orchestrating these effects across the ensemble, and applying them to different instruments. They are also used to generate chords and scales and, overall, gave license to utilize other naturally occurring sounds, opening up whole new worlds of mysterious sonic combinations and orchestrations.”Idiom II” from this book of compositions appeared on Clockwise, while the new project – spread out over two volumes – comprises the other five “Idiom” pieces. The first four of these feature her Simple Trio – Webber with drummer John Hollenbeck and pianist Matt Mitchell – which has been her primary working group for the past eight years. The hour-long “Idiom VI” is performed by a twelve-piece ensemble that brings together a mix of musicians equally split between improvisors and new music specialists. With Idiom, Webber has created a singular sonic world, a bold magnum opus that paves a new path for the amalgamation of cutting-edge composition and improvisation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2024 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: