Adam Baldych, Yaron Herman – The New Tradition (2014) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz]

Adam Baldych, Yaron Herman - The New Tradition (2014) [FLAC 24bit, 96 kHz] Download

Artist: Adam Baldych, Yaron Herman
Album: The New Tradition
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2014
Audio Format:: FLAC (tracks) 24bit, 96 kHz
Duration: 47:57
Total Tracks: 10
Total Size: 880 MB


1. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – Riverendings (05:21)
2. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – Legenda (07:50)
3. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – Sleep Safe and Warm (04:10)
4. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – Letter for E. (06:01)
5. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – June (04:39)
6. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – Quo Vadis (05:29)
7. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – Lamentation of Jeremiah (05:13)
8. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – Relativities (02:10)
9. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – Canticles of Ecstasy (04:52)
10. Bałdych & Herman Duo Art – Preludium E minor (02:07)


After his acclaimed ACT debut, for which he was awarded as “best international instrumentalist” with the german Jazz Echo, Adam Baldych returns with Yaron Herman on the piano as a duo. Together they lose themselves in melodious virtuosity, which always explodes in pure freedom in the end. An unbelievable energy will directly run through your body.The latest in ACT’s excellent duo art series Adam Bałdych sits in the tradition of Polish violin identified a little with Michał Urbaniak and Krzesimir Dębski, but above all Zbigniew Seifert (1946-79), the violin player who brought the message and mystique of the music of John Coltrane into jazz violin and whose work 35 years after his early death nonetheless still sits within the pantheon of the greatest examples of Polish jazz. Bałdych feels like an old soul here immersed in the folkloric side of spiritual jazz reached via the accessibility of naturalistic melody, the spirit of Seifert, as much as that is possible, reborn (Seifert’s composition ‘Quo Vadis’ from the late-1970s Capitol album Passion is incidentally included on The New Tradition).

‘Riverendings’, the first tune, reaches beyond into a folk space and has a certain Celtic lilt to it, yet it’s impossible to place the music geographically on this record: traditions speed like streams flowing into a river, melodies from disparate sources sculpted obliquely and interpreted harmonically within a modal framework by the Paris-based Israeli pianist Yaron Herman. The pair also interpret settings of biblical texts via Thomas Tallis and early music that proves compatible within the overall mood. There’s also a very well judged version of Komeda’s ‘Sleep Safe and Warm’, this strand to the album tapping once again into deep Polish jazz traditions via the violinist’s initiative and arrangements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

© 2023 - WordPress Theme by WPEnjoy
%d bloggers like this: